The Denny Sandwich

Image

Sometimes, breakfast just makes everything better…

and that includes “The Denny Sandwich”, pictured above.

I’ve always looked to my dad, “Denny”, for inspiration in life, but especially cooking and eating as most of what I learned about food and wine, in the beginning, I learned from him.

My dad is a real man’s man-a classic, unapologetic carnivore, and I wouldn’t want him any other way.  He’s responsible for turning me onto the sandwich in the picture above. My Dad is also very generous, and does not mind paying for the best.  He works harder than anyone I know, and plays harder than anyone I know, and though he goes out all the time, sometimes he just doesn’t like ordering from the menu.  Much to my horror, and usually, to the waitstaff’s bewilderment, he’ll put the menu down and start off his order with, “I’ll tell you what I’m hungry for..”,  then proceed to invent his own dish right on the spot, sometimes mixing and matching items from the menu, but sometimes not…

Years ago we were on a family vacation somewhere and we were all out to breakfast, ordering the usual breakfast of eggs done a certain way, or pancakes, or French toast, and my dad straight up orders a bagel, a side of cream cheese and a double order of bacon.  Nobody seemed to pay much attention, but when the food came out, my dad proceeded, nonchalantly, to make in front of us, what’s gone down in the annals of our family vernacular as the “Denny Sandwich”.  Not only were all of us staring at his creation in complete amazement, and envy, but I think for the rest of the trip, we all ordered the Denny Sandwich at breakfast and to this day, it still pops up at family breakfast outings.

I make mine at home, and the pic above is one of my homemade ones.

Here’s the recipe:

1 bagel, toasted

Philadelphia Cream Cheese (no reduced fat, fat-free, whipped, or foofy kind with vegetables or fruit in it)

6-8 slices of thick-slab cut, cooked bacon.

Make sure you have the above three ingredients, then proceed to build your own Denny Sandwich, and if needed, use the photo as a guide.  Good luck, and if building in public be prepared to be stared at-looked up to by many, as well as looked down upon by some, but you will be the envy of the civilized world for a few moments…

Leave a comment